Five Minute Friday…Fly

This is for you and for me.

I’m linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

Five minutes.

One word.

No editing.

No rethinking.

Just writing.

Today’s word: Fly

GO

Today is your day to fly. You’ve spent too long trudging through the wilderness. Now it’s your time to see what I see. I would tell you how amazing the view is, but it’s your time to see it.

Just take a moment and look up. Push beyond the weight bearing down on your shoulders and lift your head. If you can’t do it, I’ll do it for you. It’s important. Do you see it? Really, look. There’s a whole world outside of the burden on your back and the snares at your feet. I know you see this dark valley where you feel so alone and trapped, but climb onto the eagle’s wings and let me show you a different perspective.

As we begin to fly up look straight in front of you. Sometimes you need to get your focus off the struggle and onto the sky. Look how much bigger the sky is. I know we’re getting pretty high but hold on and keep looking up. Isn’t the sky so beautiful? It was there all along, you know. Yes, even when you were in that dark wilderness. The sky was there. It’s hard to see the sky when you can’t lift your head.

Now we’re leveling off. It’s time to look around. No. Don’t look down. Not yet. Just look around you. The sky is everywhere, but what do you see here? Can you see the mountains? They don’t look so insurmountable from here do they? What about those valleys over on your left? It’s just a little dip in the road.  And the ocean waves to the right. White crests looking more like breath than pounding waves. The view from here is pretty amazing, isn’t it? Maybe that’s why I brought you here. Maybe you needed amazing.

But one last thing, now it’s time to look down. Look right down below us to where I just picked you up from. Yes, that shadowy place there. That’s where you were. It was much bigger you say? No, it really wasn’t. It felt dark. And it was. But really look at it. It’s that little place right there that is surrounded by light. Yes, light. The darkness is never as dark as it seems and the wilderness never as wide. Whenever you need to remember, just call me. I’ll swoop down and pick you up if you’re willing. We can take flight and you can see how the world looks to me.

STOP

This dance was awkward and I’m still not sure I know it’s place. But it’s here.

If you want to join in check out Five Minute Fridays.

One thought on “Five Minute Friday…Fly

Leave a Reply

