Five Minute Friday…Grace

Now that my 31 days series is done, I’m enjoying the moment (or 5) to write my heart. I’m linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

Five minutes.

One word.

No editing.

No rethinking.

Just writing.

Today’s word: Grace

photo credit: wodumedia.com

GO

I’m writing for me today, and I’m not. I’ve been home for almost two weeks with sick kids. I’ve been a tangle of washing sheets and pouring powerade (with a straw of course) and reading books and plenty of movies (because really, a mama needs her sanity). The kids are getting better. Slowly, but better. I’m feeling like I can’t do it well enough.

I’ve wondered if we’ve watched too much TV and wished we had read more books.

I’ve worried I’ve spent too much time on the computer and not enough time snuggling and stroking hair.

I’ve lost my cool and yelled instead of spoken in soft tones.

This is enough to make me doubt myself on a good day. But today, this week, these weeks my kids are sick. And I’m still me. Sometimes I wish I wasn’t me.

But guess what? My boy, coughing and warm, looked at me last night and told me I was the best mama he could have ever hoped for.

And that is grace.

My babes have so much more of Jesus than I do most days. I pray that the world not harden them. I pray that I don’t harden them.

Maybe it was the fever talking. But for me it was a downpour of grace from my little boy.

And I am drenched.

STOP

Sometimes the dance brings me to my knees. Sometimes it helps me find myself. Today did both.

If you want to join in check out Five Minute Fridays!

Dance on!

One thought on “Five Minute Friday…Grace

  1. I love how our kids remind us of the grace we don’t deserve, but we’re given! Kids are great!

    Blessings- linking up from FMF!

Leave a Reply

