Day 11: Ordinary

If you’ve been reading along you know I’ve been writing a series this month. My planned post for today aligned perfectly with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

Five minutes.

One word.

No editing.

No rethinking.

Just writing.

Today’s word: Ordinary

photo credit: nytimes.com

photo credit: nytimes.com

GO

I have two butternut squash sitting on my counter. I love butternut squash. I keep looking at them longingly wondering what to do with them. And I do nothing. Why? Because no one else in my family likes butternut squash.

Surely, that’s not reason to do nothing with them. Right?

But to me it is. I have a big fear and it follows me around everywhere I go. This fear whispers in my ear with every thought that goes through my head. It tells me that I’m not enough. And I believe it.

I spend my life thinking I’m inadequate. I’m too ordinary, plain, and I’ll never measure up. In a world of ‘super’models, ‘super’stars, and ‘super’everything, I feel entirely…me.

Can my ordinary be enough in a world full of EXTRAordinary?

The truth is I’ll always seem less than someone else. When I compare myself to someone else (or a combination of someones that is even more impossible to attain) I’m trying to be something I was never meant to be.

If I’m so busy comparing myself to the super people out there, do I really have time to love them?

Comparison is just socially acceptable judgement. I was never meant to judge. I am designed to be loved and love others. If that is the purpose of my being, I should stop.

It’s not easy, so I breathe in deep and for one moment, I will tell myself that I am loved, adequate, special, and enough. And I exhale.

STOP

Wow! That was beautifully exhilarating to write!

Can I tell you one more thing today friend? In case you ever feel the same way I do, just remember:

photo credit: wipkits.blogspot.com

photo credit: wipkits.blogspot.com

If you want to join in check out Five Minute Fridays and if you’ve missed any of my 31 Days of exhale, please click on the link below!

Dance and breathe.

exhale small5-minute-friday-1

8 thoughts on “Day 11: Ordinary

  1. Sweet Rebecca! Visiting from FMF today. All I can say is WOW. Needed those words today! This idea of “If I’m so busy comparing myself… how do I love them?” Hitting me deep. Changing my heart. Blessings on you, my sister!

  2. Thank you for your honesty. So much energy is given… yes, given!… away when we compare ourselves to others. We were made with a special design and blueprint, and that’s not ordinary. You will have energy to share with others when you love yourself… once I was able to give myself grace and really love who I am, I saw the lovability factor others have.
    Make yourself some butternut squash soup… SO good… and freeze the rest ( if you don’t eat it all) for lunches. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

