Day 1: Why Exhale?

photo credit: science.howstuffworks.com

photo credit: science.howstuffworks.com

Sometimes I find that I’m holding air in the top of my lungs, never breathing all the way down to my belly. As life keeps piling on top of me I keep inhaling trying to push myself up from becoming a puddle under everything pressing in, pressing on, pressing down.

Sometimes I feel that I am wound so tight if you look at me wrong I’m liable to unleash a tornado of tension I’ve been holding deep in the clouds. My teeth are clenched so often it feels like work to let my jaw relax.

Sometimes I am so tired of trying to be and do and have and believe that even reaching for the paper bag to breathe into feels like too much work. My body is weary, my heart is creeping up.

And I’m tired of living this way.

So it’s time to choose differently. It needs to be a conscious choice before it can become natural. I’m ready to let go. I’m ready to exhale fully, deep through the heart and into the gut.

Over the next 30 days I’m going to share some of the things that keep me wrapped up in holding my breath. Things like:

  • I’m tired of white-knuckling my way through life. Exhale.
  • I’m not a size 6. Exhale.
  • I get angry. Exhale.
  • I’m worn out by church. Exhale.
  • I’m afraid of the what ifs. Exhale.

It’s going to be revealing (even for me). Maybe you too have been breathing shallow and long for something deeper. In order to breathe deep, we must exhale fully.

Just think about it for a few minutes. When was the last time you let it all out?

If you want to see more from the exhale series, please click below and follow the links.

photo credit: 1ms.net

photo credit: 1ms.net

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Why Exhale?

  1. Pingback: 31 days…

  2. Sounds like a lovely weekend. I hear you on the whole zero food situation – our fridge is desolate – full of only beer, eggs and cotmedinns. Ha. Can’t wait to get out of town for the holiday. Hope you have a lovely 4th.

Leave a Reply

