Five Minute Friday…Mercy

My dance today may be sloppy. I’m not sure why, but I’m just getting that feeling. Check out this link-up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

Five minutes.

One word.

No editing.

No rethinking.

Just writing.

Today’s word: Mercy

ragged feet

photo credit: Darrell Godliman

GO

I’m not sure what to make of this word MERCY. My first instinct is to begin waxing poetic about who I am and who HE is, but that wouldn’t be real today. It would be a show. And if I want the dance to be true, there is no place for showmanship.

So I’ll write until I figure it out. Dancing on the page in sharp jagged places instead of smooth curves and swoops. I feel more like  a hip-hop dancer in this place, short staccato movement that look somewhat insignificant in isolation. Sometimes I wonder if the movement is just as much about the music as the dance. I never could keep a beat.

Where is the Mercy in this? I suppose it’s coming in the fact that I’m here in my imperfection. Could that be the mercy? The ability to be here in my own twitching skin, off beat to a music somewhere I can’t seem to find, yet still here? That may be all I have. Maybe that’s the beauty of mercy.

My imperfection is enough. Maybe the music will find me and the movement will come to a beat I don’t have to hear but feel. Maybe it will be a heartbeat, His heartbeat pulsing in my ears and my bones telling me it’s perfect.

STOP

Dance. Dance messy if you have to, but dance.

If you want to join in check out Five Minute Fridays!

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday…Mercy

Leave a Reply

