Five Minute Friday…Red

I may have missed a few, but it is Friday after all. I’m imperfectly attempting this writer life. I’m staying in the water even though my lips are blue and my teeth chatter. I’m not giving up. So here it is, linked up with Lisa-Jo Baker because I can do anything for five minutes: Fridays.

Five minutes.

One word.

No editing.

No rethinking.

Just writing.

Today’s word: Red

bloody cross

GO

It was there in my eyes. The color that comes with rage, burns into me just as much as it sears through the recipient. It’s hot and clenched and if I had a mirror it would stop me dead in my tracks because that is not who I want to be.

I don’t want to be the person that sees and speaks and seethes red.

If I don’t want to be red how do I escape it? Who do I want to be?

It appears the first thing to do with red is release. It’s the only way.

Release my clenched fist and my sharp pointing finger.

Release the air that catches tight at the top of my chest.

Release my control on the thought that consumes me.

The only thing that I’ve found that truly erases red is red.

Not the blood coursing through my tense body, but the blood that poured out so willingly. I’m so busy holding on to my red, holding it tight in my grip. But there was nothing tight about him. He stayed in full release and the red flowed freely down his cheek dripping onto his chest all through the length of him right onto the very wood that displayed his willingness. Dropping to the ground where I can find release through his.

STOP

Isn’t it funny how when you dance you sometimes end up places you never intended to go, places you never knew existed. Stay in the waters and dance on. If you would like to dip your pen I’d love to see what you write. Link up with today’s Five Minute Friday: Red.

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday…Red

  1. Oh yes, the blessing of release! Every time I sit to write for FMF I am amazed at the things that come out of my heart! Thankful I stopped by to read.

Leave a Reply

